Where Does Black Widow Sit In The MCU Timeline: Before And After?

Where Does Black Widow Sit In The MCU Timeline: Before And After?
Natasha Romanoff makes a comeback as the Black Widow, and this might be the last that we see of her in the franchise.

I enjoyed watching Black Widow a lot. The action scenes were pretty amazing and well shot. I fell in love with Natasha all over again. And don’t even get me started on Yelena. Black Widow explains (a much-needed) back story and about how she came to be wherever she is in her life at that instant. 

I was a little skeptical when Black Widow was announced. I mean, if you’ve watched Avengers: Endgame, you know exactly what I’m talking about. How are the filmmakers going to bring her back from the dead? I assumed that the film takes place before her death (obviously. Unless, it’s another one of Wanda’s reality—which we are pretty sure it’s not).

I will talk about this in detail in a bit. But, for now, if you want to watch Black Widow and are confused about where it fits in the MCU timeline, you are at the right place (though it might be confusing to place it on the timeline, even after watching the film.)

Black Widow | New Official Trailer

Black Widow fits right in between the events of Captain America: Civil War and beyond, until before Avengers: Infinity War. But the post-credit scene takes place after Natasha’s death in Avengers: Endgame.

Read ahead to find out more. 

1. Before The Events Of Black Widow

Natasha appeared in Captain America: Civil War, before her dual appearance in Infinity Wars and Endgame. That is where Black Widow is set. The film begins during the events of the Civil War, where she is an avenger on the run, along with Steve Rogers and the others. 

The Events Of Black Widow
Natasha Romanoff | Source: Fandom

I will not get into deeper details, but Natasha joins SHIELD as a spy and is tasked by the SHIELD with the assassination of Dreykov. Now, let me remind you that Dreykov is that *curse word* who led the Red Room and brainwashed little girls into becoming cold-blooded murderers. 

To keep it short, Natasha ends up blowing Dreykov’s daughter up so that Dreykov’s death could be ensured (I AM NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS). 

2. Events of Black Widow

Natasha is just eleven years old at the beginning of Black Widow. She lives with her adoptive parents (Alexie and Melina) and their six-year-old daughter Yelena. Unfortunately, after a specific mission that Alexie and Melina were a part of, they had to escape their lives (which made me really sad, not gonna lie). 

Events of Black Widow
Natasha, Alexie & Yelena | Source: IMDb

Then Natasha and Yelena are taken in by The Red Room. Fast forward twenty years, Natasha is an Avenger on the run, who the Red Room is also hunting for deserting them (The Red Room) is where girls were trained to become ‘widows’). 

Natasha is reunited with her sister, and they gather their family once again for one particular goal: To kill Dreykov and bring the Red Room down.

Black Widow | Official Twitter

So that’s it. That’s the plot of the film (I mean, there’s a lot more shit that goes down, but I don’t want to spoil the movie for you). It might not seem much, but trust me, the scenes make up for it. 

3. After The Events Of Black Widow

Black Widow ends with bleach-blond Natasha flying off in a fighter jet. She is probably going to fly off to wherever the Infinity War takes place. And what’s more, is that there is a post-credit scene at the end of the film. 

After The Events Of Black Widow
Yelena speaks with Valentina Allegra | Source: Fandom

The thing that shocked the living daylights out of me is when this Valentina-lady tells Yelena that Clint Barton was responsible for Natasha’s death. Does that mean that there’s more to the truth than meets the eye? Or is Valentina just a shady woman, who crept at Yelena when she was mourning for Natasha?

But, of course, Clint Barton is Hawkeye, who is also getting a series for himself soon. So I’m going to go ahead and guess that the post-credit scene set up a premise for the upcoming Hawkeye series.

4. When does it take place?

To put it simply, Black Widow is set in between the events of Captain America: Civil War and Avengers: Infinity War. Marvel Boss Kevin Feige told at San Diego Comic-Con 2019 that Black Widow takes place after the events actually occur during Civil War and ahead, till the (shocking) post-credit scene, which happens way after Endgame Yelena appears to be mourning for Natasha’s death. 

When does it take place?
Yelena appears to be mourning for Natasha’s death

Well, whatever happens, I’m sure we will all get answers to our burning questions about Natasha’s death, in Hawkeye. Black Widow Released on July 7th, 2021. 

Watch it. Trust me; you’re in for a ride. 

Watch Black Widow on:

5. About Black Widow

Black Widow is an upcoming American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character of the same name. Produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, it is intended to be the 24th film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

Directed by Cate Shortland and written by Eric Pearson, the movie stars Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff alongside Florence Pugh, David Harbour, O-T Fagbenle, William Hurt, Ray Winstone, and Rachel Weisz.

It will be the first film in Phase Four of the MCU, and was delayed three times from an original May 2020 release date due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Disney confirms Marvel Studios’ Black Widow will release on Disney+ for no extra cost to existing subscribers after its Premier Access release, October 6.

The film follows Natasha Romanoff as she confronts the darker parts of her ledger when a dangerous conspiracy with ties to her past arises. Pursued by a force that will stop at nothing to bring her down, Natasha must deal with her history as a spy and the broken relationships left in her wake long before she became an Avenger.