‘The Marvels’: After New Name, ‘Captain Marvel 2’ Gets New Logo

‘The Marvels’: After New Name, ‘Captain Marvel 2’ Gets New Logo

Marvel has updated the official logo for The Marvels, the upcoming Captain Marvel sequel.

The updated logo changed the fiery orange flash of light in the background to a galactic blue, similar to the light that Captain Marvel’s powers produce. The spectrum symbol over the letter ‘A’ has been made more reflective and transparent. The ‘S’ at the end stands for Ms. Marvel.

Marvel first revealed the logo for the sequel along with the title The Marvels, with a release date set for November 11, 2022, in its recent YouTube video. The video titled “Marvel Studios Celebrates The Movies” paid tribute to the Marvel Cinematic Universe leading up to its slate of films planned for Phase Four.

The Marvels: After New Name, Captain Marvels 2 Gets New Logo
The Marvels | Source: IMDb

Previously known as Captain Marvel 2, the new title seems more fitting as the film would feature Captain Marvel (Brie Larson) along with Monica Rambeau aka Spectrum (Teyonah Parris). An adult version of Rambeau made her recent debut in WandaVision.

Another new superhero in the sequel is Kamala Khan, aka Ms. Marvel (Iman Vellani), who will make her debut in the upcoming Disney+ show Ms. Marvel sometime in 2021.

Monica Rambeau knows Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel as she is the daughter of Maria Rambeau, Carol’s best friend. As for Kamala, when she first discovers her shapeshifting abilities in the comics, she decides to take on the mantle of Ms. Marvel to emulate Carol Danvers, her idol.

The Marvels: After New Name, Captain Marvels 2 Gets New Logo
Zawe Ashton | Source: IMDb

Zawe Ashton will play the villain in the sequel, although her character hasn’t been revealed yet. Nia DaCosta will be directing The Marvels, while Megan McDonnell, who also wrote for WandaVision, will be writing the script.

The Marvels is intended to be the 31st film in the MCU. Marvel’s Phase Four currently includes The Marvels, Black Widow, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Thor: Love and Thunder, Eternals, Spider-Man: No Way Home, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, and an unnamed Fantastic Four movie.

MCU Phase Four MoviesRelease Date
LokiJune 9, 2021
Black WidowJuly 9, 2021
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten RingsSeptember 3, 2021
The EternalsNovember 5, 2021
Spider-Man: No Way HomeDecember 17, 2021
HawkeyeLate 2021
Ms. MarvelLate 2021
MorbiusJanuary 21, 2022
Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of MadnessMarch 25, 2022
Thor: Love and ThunderMay 6, 2022
Black Panther 2: Wakanda ForeverJuly 8, 2022
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse SequelOctober 7, 2022
The MarvelsNovember 11, 2022
Ant-Man and the Wasp: QuantumaniaFebruary 17, 2023
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3May 5, 2023
Watch The Marvels on:

About The Marvels

The Marvels is the sequel to Captain Marvel (2019), a continuation of the Disney+ series Ms. Marvel (2021), and the 31st film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). It features the Marvel Comics characters Carol Danvers / Captain Marvel, Monica Rambeau / Spectrum, and Kamala Khan / Ms. Marvel. The film is directed by Nia DaCosta from a screenplay by Megan McDonnell and stars Brie Larson, Teyonah Parris, and Iman Vellani.

Captain Marvel was introduced to MCU as an extraterrestrial Kree warrior who finds herself caught in the middle of an intergalactic battle between her people and the Skrulls. There is no official plot synopsis from Marvel for the sequel so far, but it has been referred to as a “cosmic adventure”.

It’s reported that the sequel will take place in “the present day”, which we can assume will be the present day of the current MCU. After the events of Avengers: Endgame and its five-year time jump, that means 2023.