Hawkeye to Be Six Episodes Long and Packed with “Christmas Spirit”

Hawkeye to Be Six Episodes Long and Packed with “Christmas Spirit”

Marvel’s upcoming Disney+ series, Hawkeye, will see Jeremey Renner’s Clint Barton on a new adventure with his successor Kate Bishop, played by Hailee Steinfeld.

With much speculation about the show’s release and episode count, it has now been revealed that the series will consist of six episodes.

Loki and TFATWS also ran for six episodes for their first seasons. Although other details for Hawkeye have not been revealed yet, it might follow in the steps of the aforementioned shows with 42-60 minutes of runtime for its episodes.

Besides Renner and Steinfeld, Hawkeye includes Vera Farmiga, Fra Free, Tony Dalton, Brian d’Arcy James, and Alaqua Cox. Florence Pugh will also reprise her role as Yelena Belova after her MCU debut in Black Widow.

The episode count was revealed in a short write-up from TV Guide Magazine’s fall preview issue (via magikarpcatcher).

Hawkeye To Have Six Episodes & Will Be Packed With ‘Christmas Spirit’
Hawkeye | Source: Fandom

In the comics, Kate is a young warrior who worships Hawkeye and has spent years training to be like him. Executive producer Trinh Tran commented about what the show’s essence would be, calling it “ground-breaking and funny, packed to the brim with Christmas spirit.”

Kate is looking for ways to impellent those skills. That’s when she runs into Clint, who has no clue who she is and doesn’t really understand her obsession for him.

Trinh Tran

Based on the trailer, fans had previously speculated that the setting seemed a bit ‘Christmas-y.’ And now that it has been confirmed, the show itself will air from November through December, aka during Christmas time.

The series will take place in a world post-Endgame, just like other live-action Phase 4 shows. Tran added,

The city has, in many ways, recuperated and continued thriving, but the same can’t be said for all its citizens.

Trinh Tran
Hawkeye To Have Six Episodes & Will Be Packed With ‘Christmas Spirit’
Trinh Tran | Source: Fandom

While WandaVision, Loki, and What If…? gave us bizarre other-worldly settings with magic and multiverses, it looks like Hawkeye will follow The Falcon and the Winter Soldier type of storytelling and will be based in a more real, everyday-life setting.

Hawkeye will premiere on November 24 on Disney+, with a new episode releasing each Wednesday until December 29.

About Hawkeye

Hawkeye is an upcoming television miniseries for the Disney+ streaming service. Created by Jonathan Igla, it is based on the Marvel comic character of the same name. The show will feature Clint Barton aka. Hawkeye and newcomer Kate Bishop who will eventually become the next Hawkeye.

Cast members include Jeremy Renner who will be reprising his role as Barton, and Hailee Steinfeld will be playing Kate Bishop. Additional cast includes Vera Farmiga, Fra Fee, and Florence Pugh, who too will reprise her role from the unreleased “Black Widow”. Hawkeye is scheduled to be released in November 2021.