How to Watch Homeland Series Easy Watch Order Guide

How to Watch Homeland Series Easy Watch Order Guide

Homeland is one of Showtime’s best series of all time and is also the network’s longest-running show. While the popular saga ended in April 2020, people are still going gaga over it, and the gritty thriller is still amassing new followers.

For the uninitiated, Homeland is a compelling blend of espionage thriller and political drama that brings together the terrorists, US Marines, and the bureaucrats under one story. It’s almost like a faster, grittier version of Zero Dark Thirty and a better version of Jack Ryan.

So, if you’re wondering how to watch Homeland, where to watch it, and more, you’ve come to the right place.

Homeland is available on Showtime and Hulu. The show consists of eight seasons, and every season covers a different threat to the United States while having the same central characters at the helm of every story.

Release Order

  • Homeland Season 1 (2011)
  • Homeland Season 2 (2012)
  • Homeland Season 3 (2013)
  • Homeland Season 4 (2014)
  • Homeland Season 5 (2015)
  • Homeland Season 6 (2017)
  • Homeland Season 7 (2018)
  • Homeland Season 8 (2020)
How to Watch Homeland Series Easy Watch Order Guide
Homeland | Source: IMDb

Homeland concluded with Season 8, wrapping up the story arcs of all the central characters like Carrie Mathison, Saul Berenson, and Nicholas Brody. Although fans wanted to see more of all these characters, their arcs, and the show, they had to say their goodbyes. In fact, there were even rumors of the show being renewed, but sadly all of that was just wishful thinking.

Homeland Chronological Watch Order

The show’s timeline is pretty linear and takes place in real-time. It essentially means that when the show was released back in 2011, it represented events of around that time, and by the show’s end (2020), the story had progressed about 9 to 10 years.

How to Watch Homeland Series Easy Watch Order Guide
Homeland | Source: IMDb

You can compare Homeland’s narrative style to Lee Child’s Jack Reacher book series. Every season is a different story and can be watched individually.

However, there will be minor references to the previous plot points. Moreover, even if flashbacks are depicted in the individual episodes, they are tied to the present, and one needs to watch them in the given sequence.

Having said that, the series must be watched in the same order as its release to fully enjoy the different characters, their growth, and the evolution in their interpersonal relationships. So, simply put, the chronological watch order of Homeland is the same as the release order.

Runtime and Binge Duration

Homeland lasted for 8 seasons and 96 episodes in total. The average duration of each episode is about 55 minutes and so the entire series will last approximately 4 days.

How to Watch Homeland Series Easy Watch Order Guide
Carrie Mathison | Source: IMDb

Overall, the show is known to be at its best in the first two seasons, after which the show loses its luster. But, besides the two, Season 4 is also incredible.

If you plan to watch it all nonetheless, try to binge it one weekend at a time. This is because of the overwhelming drama and action, which tends to get pretty intense. So watch one season every weekend, and you can knock the show off your watchlist in eight weeks.

Where to Watch Homeland

Homeland is available on Hulu and Showtime’s streaming platforms. You can also buy it on Amazon Prime and Google Play as well.

Watch Homeland on:

About Homeland

Homeland is an American political-spy thriller created by Howard Gordon and Alex Gansa based on an older Israeli series, named Prisoners of War. It was produced by Fox 21 Television Studios and first aired in 2011. Homeland ended in 2020 with its eighth and final season.

The show follows the story of an insightful CIA operations officer, Carrie Mathison, who is reassigned to CIA’s Counterterrorism Center in Langley, Virginia after running an unauthorized operation in Iraq.